The Present is not a gift

PAPER GIRLS

FOR FANS OF

The Goonies

Stranger Things

My Best Friend’s Exorcism


July is a special month. We get to celebrate Independence Day with fireworks, the height of summer vacation, and Netflix dropping eight fresh episodes of STRANGER THINGS.But when the binging is over it’s time to come down from your high.

Having recently finished season 3 (which, unless you’ve been living under a rock, I’m sure you’ve had many people other than me highly recommend) I knew I needed something similar. After clicking around on Goodreads one afternoon I finally found something to placate the void: a graphic novel set in 1988 focusing on four 12-year-old paper delivery girls who discover a dark secret about their small town the morning after Halloween night.

00-PaperGirls_BookOne1-590x927
Paper Girls cover for the Deluxe edition

The first volume of PAPER GIRLS by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang came out in 2016, but the neon pink deluxe edition gathers issues 1 through 10 together in one awesome package and includes bonus content in the back.

Yes, please!

I tried to pace myself… I really did. But just like with Stranger ThingsI found the story too addicting to slow down. I blazed through all 10 issues in a single day. Am I sorry? No. No I’m not.

papergirls1-800x328
From issue 1

So if you’re looking for something to quench your thirst for 80s culture and life threatening situations involving aliens, or just something quick to read between your next D&D campaigns, I recommend picking yourself up a copy of PAPER GIRLS. You won’t regret it.

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a comment